Explore the world's offshore developments, share a lifetime of learning with your peers.


Wednesday, July 14, 2021

Houston, Texas, USA (14 July 2021) — The Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) announced its inaugural class for its Emerging Leaders Program, which recognizes young professionals with less than 10 years of experience in the offshore energy sector who are making significant contributions to the offshore energy sector through service, innovation, and focus on safety.

Program participants are nominated by one of OTC’s 13 sponsoring, endorsing or supporting organizations. The 2021 recipients will be honored during the Young Professionals: Diversify Your Network event, which will take place during the conference on Wednesday, 18 August 2021.

2021 Emerging Leader Inaugural Class:

  • Shane Carley, Chevron, Geophysicist
  • Laura Dafov, PhD, bp, Geologist
  • Riad Efendi, PhD, TechnipFMC, Corporate HSE Manager
  • Rami Jabari, ExxonMobil, Senior Research Engineer
  • Kevin Jensen, bp, Drilling Engineer
  • Alexander Mackay, Ryder Scott Company, L.P, Project Manager
  • Amy McCleney, PhD, Southwest Research Institute, Research Engineer
  • Nate Meredith, NOV/GustoMSC, Engineer
  • Catherine Nesbit, bp, Compliance Engineer
  • Ramakrishna Ponnapati, PhD, Baker Hughes, Techno-Commercial Manager
  • Michael Sager, DOF Subsea, Project Engineer
  • Kuhanesapathy Thavaras Pathy, PETRONAS, Senior Wells Engineer
  • Patricia Varela, PhD, Geosyntec Consultants, Inc., Professional

“The inaugural class of our Emerging Leaders Program is comprised of smart, hard-working young professionals who will be critical to shaping the next generation of offshore energy and ensuring a more sustainable future for all,” said Leigh Ann Runyan, Executive Director, OTC. “As an industry, we rely on young professionals to bring their relentless innovation, collaboration and fresh ideas to continue to advance offshore energy for years to come.”

Nominating organizations include the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), the American Petroleum Institute (API),the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME),Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Oceanic Engineering Society, the International Association of Drilling Contractors (IADC),the International Marine Contractors Association (IMCA),the Marine Technology Society (MTS), the National Ocean Industries Association (NOIA), the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG), the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) and the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).

More information about this year’s participants please visit OTC’s awards page.



The Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) is where energy professionals meet to exchange ideas and opinions to advance scientific and technical knowledge for offshore resources and environmental matters. Founded in 1969, OTC’s flagship conference is held annually in Houston. OTC has expanded technically and globally with the Arctic Technology Conference, OTC Brasil, and OTC Asia. For more information, visit www.otcnet.org


Become A Member

As a member of one or more societies, you will gain technical knowledge and build relationships that will benefit you throughout your career. Members also receive discounted registrations to OTC.

Find out more